Godspeed Little Man

I have found a lot of comfort in music the last few weeks.  Some songs make me smile and some songs I can actually feel the love of Christ as if the Lord has wrapped his arms around me to remind me of his love.  Some songs, admittedly, make me angry.   And many songs make me sad.  I’d listened to the song Godspeed by Dixie Chicks years ago but when I heard it again just recently it took on a whole new meaning.  Emotionally, it hit me.  It hit me hard.  I cried…  the pour tears kind of cry.

This song is my prayer to you Nate and I promise you that every night I WILL fly my love to you on angels wings.  I know you know how much we LOVE you sweet pea.

“Godspeed (Sweet Dreams)”  By Dixie Chicks

Dragon tales and the “water is wide”
Pirate’s sail and lost boys fly
Fish bite moonbeams every night
And I love you
Godspeed, little man
Sweet dreams, little man
Oh my love will fly to you each night on angels wings
Godspeed
Sweet dreams
The rocket racer’s all tuckered out
Superman’s in pajamas on the couch
Goodnight moon, will find the mouse
And I love you
Godspeed, little man
Sweet dreams, little man
Oh my love will fly to you each night on angels wings
Godspeed
Sweet dreams
God bless mommy and match box cars
God bless dad and thanks for the stars
God hears “Amen,” wherever we are
And I love you
Godspeed, little man
Sweet dreams, little man
Oh my love will fly to you each night on angels wings
Godspeed
Godspeed
Godspeed
Sweet dreams
~
The rocket racers all tuckered out, Supermans in pajamas on the couch….  reminds me so much of you.  You played hard, you worked hard, you loved hard, and when you fell asleep at night you slept hard too.   You were my rocket racer.
.
God Bless Mommy and Matchbox cars, God Bless Dad and thanks for the Stars.  Nate was a boy that loved his trucks and cars.  He has at least 250 matchbox cars and given the choice he’d use allowance money each week to buy one more.   Nate had already decided he was asking Santa this year for a gas powered 4 wheeler.
Oh, my sweet Nate,  I love you buddy.
We will be GREAT for you NATE.
Katie
7 thoughts on “Godspeed Little Man

  1. danelle

    I cant help but to cry right along with you. I never heard this song but can empathize with the strong emotion u were feeling. This may sound weird but i am glad to hear you were crying cause that means you too are feeling and more importantly healing. Keep writing cause its good for the mind and spirit. Love you kiddo!

    Reply
  2. Amy method

    Oh Katie! What a beautiful song. Thank you & your precious husband for sharing your love for your son. I really appreciate your testimony & the reminder that life is so precious. I truly have a different attitude w/ my children now. Lily asked me yesterday to bring her a treat when I came home from work. I was so tired that I didn’t want to stop. I kept telling myself to go home but then Nate popped into my head & I turned into the Walgreens. The smile that was on her face when I got home was priceless. Thank you Nate for reminding me to cherish my children even more.

    Reply
  3. CS

    You and your family are amazing and truly an inspiration. I don’t know you and I didn’t know Nate, but the tears still fell when I read your post and the words of the song. I can’t imagine what life would be like without my 4 year old boy and It’s so desperately unfair that you are living yours without Nate. Thank you for the reminder to live every day to the fullest and cherish our children. God bless.

    Reply
  4. Jenelle Baker Cannon

    I have always loved this song and used to sing it to my little ones at night, but reading the lyrics over right now it really does have a different meaning and is a perfect song for Nathan. It puts together the things he loved and explains how your love will fly to him now by angels. When you listen find comfort in realizing that nothing is faster or more efficient than godspeed. In heaven love, joy, and good news enter and Nathan is feeling our love that we all have been sending and can see all the joy we feel when we are remembering him and the light he is in our lives, and Im sure hes heard of the good news that his school is getting closer to having a place to play. Keep listening to music and sharing, I think both are gifts from god to help soothe the soul from the inside out. Love you all, thinking of you all the time, and sending you love tonight

    Reply
  5. Denise Roushey

    Am just wondering what took this precious boy from you. I know it’s still soon but could you have an explanation of the illness, accident that took this precious angel. So sorry for your loss.
    Denise

    Reply
    1. nathanchrisbaker Post author

      Denise –
      Nate drowned while on vacation in Va. I hope to be able to write more about his life and the circumstances that lead up to his death. I just have to find it in me to write it in the future.
      Justin

      Reply

Leave a Reply

